Last night we were dancing on tables, swinging from the chandeliers

I don’t think I’ve ever danced as much or as hard as I did last night.

Last night was the Toronto date for Summer Fest 2013 – an absolutely incredible line-up that consisted of Keep It Cute, The Ready Set, T-Mills, Breathe Carolina, and headlined by We the Kings. Of those five bands, I love three of them (to be honest, I could have done without T-Mills). But a few months ago, once dates had been announced, the bands started talking VIP. And I decided that I needed to meet (and greet) Breathe Carolina.

Technically, we’ve met before. Warped 2010 – my first Warped – was about 2-3 months after I started listening to them. I stood in a long line and got my Hello Fascination album signed. (there is an oft-told anecdote about how You Me At Six was SUPPOSED to go on stage around the same time, on the stage across from BC’s tent, but instead it was Hey Monday who I cannot stand. But that’s a story for another day). Unfortunately, they didn’t have time for pictures and I was deeply disappointed. (if you ask Ro about this, she will tell you that David practically spat into her ear when explaining the lack of time. I believe my reaction was “I CAN’T BELIEVE HE SPAT IN YOUR EAR, YOU’RE SOOO LUCKY”).

This time around, m&g was supposed to be before the show. For some reason (lack of organization mainly – I choose to blame The Opera House, who is notorious for not being organized when meeting bands are involved) – it was moved to after the show. I was okay with that, except I knew I would be sweaty and hoarse and my hair would be EVERYWHERE, but I accepted it. What else could I do?

While inside though (since VIP included early entry), I met Kyle! He’s one half of Breathe Carolina (the screamy half) and he is such a sweetheart. He was setting up his face painting station but he paused to chat with me and a couple of other girls who also had m&g.

The show itself was EXCELLENT. I jumped, I screamed, I danced, I flailed around when any of the bands played a song I love. I may have even done “the robot” a few times. I’ve never understood why/how people can stand still during certain bands. It’s not possible with Breathe Carolina. I don’t think I can even put into words how good it was, though that might be due to lack of sleep (I’m sure Ro, Nina, and Anna will agree. With both the show and the lack of sleep).

Eventually, after the lights popped back on and We the Kings had strode off stage, partially covered in confetti, the Breathe Carolina merch guy (whose name I can’t remember) corralled all the VIP and led us outside to meet the guys. Everyone got in line and one by one went up to have a chat.

David was friendly and polite and very apologetic for making us wait till after the show. And Kyle remembered me! Sure, I had only met him about five hours previously, but I wasn’t expecting him to remember our earlier conversation (he had been asking me about my Choonimals tank top before getting distracted and never finished his question).

They are both so grateful for their fans and they constantly thank everyone for coming out to the show. So it’s always nice to be appreciated even when you’re standing there thinking “I love you guys so much but not in a creepy stalker way. It’s more of  a ‘thank you for making such fantastic music’ way”.

Also, I am a hugger, and the fact that they both hugged me pretty much made my week.

Image

Finally! After nearly four years, I have a picture with Breathe Carolina!

There were ten thousand things I wanted to say to them, but I forgot how to think by the time it was my turn. At least I told them that I’ve seen them once a summer for four summers straight…and then David told me they’ll be at Warped next year!!

The only problem is: how can I wait until next summer to see them again?

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

