Don’t hold your breath, I’m not losing sleep over you

Welcome to Music Monday!

I’ve decided that every Monday, I’ll post something music-related: a video, song lyrics, a memory/review of a concert/CD, etc.

For the inaugural Music Monday, here is the video for one of my most favourite songs ever:

I’ve mentioned You Me At Six multiple times in this blog already. They are British and they are awesome, and if that’s not a good enough reason for you to listen to them…well then, I can’t help you. They are the only band I’ve ever travelled outside of the country to see (TWICE, no less: Wembley Arena in London last December and Best Buy Theatre in New York in April).

Image

Max, Matt, Josh, Dan, and Chris (Wembley Arena, December 8, 2012)

I don’t know what it is about this song that I love so much. The words, the melody, I don’t know. Either way, last summer when I was jobless and lonely from May to August, I started every morning with a mug of Earl Grey tea and “Reckless” at full volume and it pretty much set the tone for the rest of my day. If I didn’t listen to it at least once…it usually wasn’t a very good day.

I could talk about this song (and this band) for hours, but I’ll just let you listen and judge for yourselves. A lot of people say that the beginning sounds like The Killers “When You Were Young”, but I don’t really hear it. Similar guitar chords, I guess, but I feel like it’s not as obvious as people (usually “haterz”) claim.

One last thought: if you’re ever at a YMAS show, I apologize in advance for how loud I scream/sing throughout this entire song. It’s the one song I’ve ever considered crowd-surfing for (and I usually disprove of crowd-surfing), and I make no guarantees it won’t happen this October when I see them again (for the sixth time).

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

