I’d trade all my tomorrows for just one yesterday

I considered writing a proper review of the FANTASTIC show I went to last night, but since I have a hard time being objective when it comes to bands I love, the review would have gone something like this:

OH MY GOSH YOU GUYS, ASLKFH HASDOF  BEST NIGHT EVER!!!! SOOOO GOOD!!!! I LOOOVVEEEEEE THEM!!! A++++++!!! FIVE BILLION STARS!!! GASLDIHF OAJHALKDJF

So let’s see if I can do this using real words:

Last night was the Toronto date for the Save Rock and Roll Arena tour. The line-up was stellar: twenty one pilots (who, while they aren’t my kind of music, were pretty entertaining), Panic! at the Disco (or Panic! at the MOTHER-TRUCKING I LOVE THEM Disco, which is how I refer to them), and Fall Out Boy (who, if you’ve been living under a rock for the past seven months, came back in a BIG WAY this past February after a 4 year long hiatus).

Because the show was at Echo Beach it, of course, rained. I’ve been to that outdoor venue four (technically five) times this summer, and each time it’s rained at least a little bit. I’m not even sure what it looks like when it’s not covered by angsty grey rainclouds.

I could bore you with details of standing in line (for those of you who’ve attended shows there in the past, the line stretched across the bridge and into the parking lot beside the BMO field. Not as bad as Warped, since the line was – for the most part – single file, but still quite a trek to the actual entrance), or the fact that I used a port-a-potty for the first time in my life (never again!), or how uncomfortable it is to be stuck in a claustrophobic’s nightmare aka the merch line (I’m not actually claustrophobic but I can tell you it’s not pleasant to have a stranger’s elbow digging into your shoulder blade just because you happen to be on the short side).

But last night was all about the music.

I missed most of twenty one pilots’ set due to standing in the aforementioned merch line and then lining up again to get poutine from the overpriced food truck, but from what I heard, they weren’t too bad. I think I can only take them in small doses, to be honest, but they were by no means the worst opening band I’ve ever witnessed.

Next up was Panic! at the Disco. I could talk about them forever (and I will, eventually, write an entire blog post describing my love for them). It was the fourth time I’ve seen them live, and the first time in two years. Say what you will about Panic!, but they are incredible entertainers. I mean, Brendon Urie BACKFLIPPED off the raised drum platform. And you have to understand that it had been raining pretty hard by that point, so the stage was not exactly dry – yet he still managed to stick the landing and continue singing.

Their set was a great mix of classic (“Time to Dance”, one of their first songs ever), to the incongruous “Nine in the Afternoon” (the only single they played from their trippy second album), a couple of songs off of their third album, Vices & Virtues, and their two new singles, “Miss Jackson” and “This is Gospel”.

If you love me, let me goooooooo

Ro thought my pants were going to fly off when Brendon started screaming the words, especially during the older songs. I’m not going to lie…it was touch and go for a minute there. But can we please take a minute to appreciate his face:

 

Brendon – I know you’re married and you two make such a cute couple, but I’ll love you the way Snape loved Lily – ALWAYS.

After their fantastic set, there was a 15-20 minute wait for FOB. It might have been shorter than that, but it felt like forever. It was completely worth it, though.

Starting with “The Phoenix”, they just didn’t stop for just over an hour. Because of the rain, they even skipped the part where they go backstage and wait for everyone to chant “FALL OUT BOY, FALL OUT BOY” before running back out for the encore. This set too was a perfect blend of classic FOB and a surprising amount of songs off of their latest album, Save Rock and Roll. Of course, my favourite moment of any FOB setlist is “A Little Less Sixteen Candles”, but one of the highlights was definitely their most recent single, “Alone Together”:

I don’t know where you’re going but do you got room for one more troubled soul?

There was screaming, there was singing, there was dancing, there was fist-pumping while yelling “YEAH”, there was arm-flailing during the slower/acoustic songs, and there was a lot of jumping (which is no mean feat since we were standing on wet sand that thankfully didn’t turn to mud but still managed to layer my shoes with a grainy coat). I may have even whipped my hair back and forth (and by ‘may’, I mean ‘heck yeah, to the point that I had to take off my beanie for the final song, “Saturday”, because I was worried it would go flying’).

Joe, Patrick, Pete, and Andy.

And my absolute favourite moment of the night was when Brendon came out during their set to join Patrick in singing “20 Dollar Nose Bleed”. Remember a few Music Mondays ago when I described how much I love the song “Reckless“? Well, before “Reckless” came into my life, there was “20 Dollar Nose Bleed”. It’s fun, it’s catchy, and it features a delightful duet by two of my favourite singers (Brendon and/or Patrick could sing the alphabet song and I would listen to it EVERY DAY). I actually thought I would stop breathing at one point, it was THAT GOOD.

If I could go to this show again, I would do it in a heart beat. And I would scream, sing, jump, and dance, as loud, as hard, and as much as I did last night.

“You are what you love, not who loves you.” #saverockandroll

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

