These words are knives and often leave scars

In July, Panic! at the Disco announced a new album, and dropped their lead single, “Miss Jackson”. They released their fourth album, Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die, on October 8, 2013.

When Ro and I dance to this, there’s a LOT of jazz hands. A LOT.

This was me for the 3 months between the announcement and the actual release date:

https://i0.wp.com/25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_ls21w4OlKd1qkmpj8o1_500.gif

Wheeeeeee!!!

There was a minor complication in procuring the (physical) album: I couldn’t pre-order it because shipping was ASTRONOMICAL, and Target promised an exclusive version with two bonus tracks, but failed to actually stock said exclusive version (they didn’t have any copies of ANY version, to be honest), so after a week of rolling around on the floor, shrieking “ME WANTS IT”, I bought it for $10 at Sunrise.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/f/fc/Too_Weird_to_Live,_Too_Rare_to_Die!.jpg

Oh Brendon *shakes heads indulgently*

I’ve listened to it approximately 106840 times since then. Even my mom has listened to it several times.

As I’ve mentioned, I am a massive P!ATD fan. They were the first band I really obsessed over (I was 17 when I first started listening to them). I knew everything there was to know about them: full names, ages, birthdays (side note: Brendon Urie is exactly 3 years and 4 days old than me), family life, EVERYTHING.

I still kinda do. Even though the line-up has changed (just don’t get me started on the Ross/Walker split of 2009).

Having listened to TWTL,TRTD multiple times in the past couple of weeks, I found some standout tracks that I just can’t listen to enough:

When they decided to stream their album a week early on the youtube, I, of course, dropped everything to listen (no literally, I think I stopped working for half an hour). At first, I was drawn to “Nicotine“, but as the album progressed, everything changed once I hit “Casual Affair”. There is something almost haunting about it, a mysterious sort of vibe that gets in your head and doesn’t let you go. I LOVE IT.

“Vegas Lights” was another one that definitely grew on me by the second or third listen. It starts off with a sample from Sesame Street, but trust me when I say you can easily dance to this. If you’re the dancing type, of course.

Also, for the record, the first time I heard “Miss Jackson”, I definitely heard the similarities between that and Fall Out Boy’s first single post-hiatus, “My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark“, so I’m not naive enough to say they don’t have a FOB-vibe around them (I personally feel like that particular sound fits better with Panic! than with FOB. Which is not to say I don’t love “My Songs”, I just mean it makes more sense coming from Panic!). But I’ve never understood when “critics” say that P!ATD is just a rip-off of FOB. They’re too completely different bands – but since they’re all really good friends, it shouldn’t be a surprise that they constantly influence each other.

Overall, this album is a delicious combination of their debut, A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out and my personal favourite, their third (first to be recorded post-split), Vices & Virtues. For some unfathomable reason, people complain TWTL, TRTD doesn’t “sound like Panic!”. None of their albums sound the same. That’s what makes them so much fun. You never know what you’re going to get with a new P!ATD album.

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

