You sit down […] and you put one word after another until it’s done – Neil Gaiman

Technically I have until the 30th to finish my NaNoWriMo story, but, since I’m skipping town on the 28th, I’m aiming for this to be done by the 27th at the latest.

Also, I’m somewhat ambitious and a whole lot of crazy.

I hit 25000 words yesterday which means I’m officially at the midpoint.

Because I don’t have a solid outline for this project (apart from the short story I wrote last year, which is what it’s based on), I’m writing ALL THE WORDS that are in my head. I write long, rambling paragraphs; I occasionally repeat phrases or ideas; and there are a lot of autobiographical moments at the beginning that served as filler until I really understood my protagonist.

I introduce elements on one page that I realize are completely unnecessary two pages later, but I leave them in there. Partially so that I don’t screw myself over by messing up my word count (I’m on a time crunch, people!), but also because I may change my mind and decide I need it after all.

Since I genuinely like editing, I don’t really mind the idea that I’ll have 80+ single spaced pages to go through (it won’t be the first time, and it certainly won’t be the last). I’m actually kind of looking forward to it. I’m eager to see if a real story will emerge from my messy pile of words.

What I’ve learned is this: sometimes you just need to write down everything that pops into your head. Even if your subconscious is screaming at you “That paragraph doesn’t make sense! And now you’re just making up words and pretending like they’re a thing!” Because even if this is true, even if you eventually end up scratching out whole paragraphs or re-writing an entire chapter, at least you’re doing something.

The precious human commonly known as Sam Miller (the lead singer of Paradise Fears) wrote this blog post earlier in the week (don’t even get me started on how much I love and admire Sam Miller). And while he’s talking about song-writing in particular, his last words hold true for any writer (or artist in general):

Creativity is an inexhaustible resource. Ideas are infinite. Your bones will get tired, your mind will  grow stronger. If you want to create something beautiful, lasting, timeless, than you’ve got to start by creating something.

Couldn’t have said it better myself, Sam.

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

