15,000

There’s a week left of NaNoWriMo and I realized yesterday that I have 15,000 words left to hit my goal and I’m not even close to done (events-wise, I mean).

*cue the wild eyes and flailing arms and zombie noises that I make when I feel overwhelmed*

My biggest issue  is the fact that my (admittedly old and by ‘old’, I mean not entirely legit) version of Word tells me one word count but the word count validator on the NaNoWriMo site gives me a different number. This would be okay if I was off by 10-100 words, but it’s off by 1000+. So that’s fun. And by ‘fun’, I mean horrible.

My other big problem is that, in my head, my lead male character kinda looks like John O’Callaghan from The Maine so sometimes I zone out and imagine how delightful it would be to know him in real life.

https://i0.wp.com/25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_l7a2aozPjV1qzs20ao1_r1_500.jpg

*sighs dreamily and clasps hands over my heart* Photo credit goes to Adam Elmakias, who takes fantastic photos of bands.

I plan to finish this novel by next week’s Writing Wednesday. Which means I need to stop Googling The Maine and start writing (although technically, I should be working now).

But just so this isn’t a complete waste of a post (although in my opinion, any post that features a picture of John O’Callaghan is never a waste), I leave you with this song which plays an important part in the first half of my story (but also because I’m stoked that Bring Me The Horizon is coming here in February!!):

Time stood still, the way it did before, it’s like I’m sleepwalking

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

