Teardrop – Lauren Kate

On Tuesday, I finished reading the book I started last week: Teardrop by Lauren Kate.

I loved Lauren’s other series (Fallen), so I was excited when I found out she was writing a new trilogy.

All of her books have gorgeous covers.

From Amazon:

“An epic saga of heart-stopping romance, devastating secrets, and dark magic . . . a world where everything you love can be washed away. The first book in the new series from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Fallen series

Never, ever cry. . . . Eureka Boudreaux’s mother drilled that rule into her daughter years ago. But now her mother is gone, and everywhere Eureka goes he is there: Ander, the tall, pale blond boy who seems to know things he shouldn’t, who tells Eureka she is in grave danger, who comes closer to making her cry than anyone has before.

But Ander doesn’t know Eureka’s darkest secret: ever since her mother drowned in a freak accident, Eureka wishes she were dead, too. She has little left that she cares about, just her oldest friend, Brooks, and a strange inheritance—a locket, a letter, a mysterious stone, and an ancient book no one understands. The book contains a haunting tale about a girl who got her heart broken and cried an entire continent into the sea. Eureka is about to discover that the ancient tale is more than a story, that Ander might be telling the truth . . . and that her life has far darker undercurrents than she ever imagined.”

I have to admit, it didn’t affect me as much as reading Fallen for the first time did. It’s a great concept – I can’t say I’ve ever read another YA book about Altantis (that’s not a spoiler, by the way, Altantis is mentioned in the prologue). And being the first book in a trilogy, it’s obviously heading towards a crazy conclusion. While a lot happened and there was a lot of explanations and build up, I felt like the climactic event didn’t happen until somewhere around page 400…out of 440 pages. Which is not to say that the preceding 399 were completely useless, but it was slow going.

One of the things I loved about the Fallen series was Luce’s relationship with Daniel (my other favourite aspect were the other –SPOILER ALERT– angels, who were pretty awesome). But I wasn’t quite as sold on Ander, Teardrop‘s main love interest. It hurts my heart to say this because I hate when critics fall back on this same tired comparison but…their relationship had a bit of a Twilight vibe. Just in that “oh, there’s a hot guy who’s stalking me (i.e. watching me sleep, literally following me around, etc), and I should be scared, but I’m not because he’s soooo dreamy and I think – no, I KNOW – that I love him” way. Throughout all their (well-written) scenes together, I couldn’t really get behind the idea of Eureka and Ander. There was something off about them that hopefully will be addressed in the rest of the series.

I did like that the prologue was from Ander’s POV and the epilogue from Brooks’, because it was a unique way to bookend the story without taking away from Eureka’s narrative. But it also kinda bugged me that the huge conflict near the end took place in Eureka’s backyard only because it reminded me of the end of Torment (especially with her best friend being present and all like “WHAT KIND OF WACKY WORLD DO YOU LIVE IN”. Although Eureka and Cat’s friendship was, in general, very reminiscent of Luce and Callie in Fallen, so it wasn’t really surprising).

I was a little worried, after I finished reading it and realized I didn’t love it, that I was falling out of love with Young Adult fiction (especially after my feelings re: Alice in Zombieland a few weeks ago) and that maybe I was setting my expectations bar way too high. But then I started reading Beautiful Chaos (the third book in The Caster Chronicles), and OH MY GLOB, IT’S INSANE. My review of that will probably be much more enthusiastic.

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

