Then we’ll turn it up and we’ll play a little faster

I’ve been in a very The Academy Is… mood lately (I’m listening to them right now!). Probably because I put “Winter Passing” on a Christmas mix for myself and listening to it reminded me of how much I love TAI.

https://i0.wp.com/userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/500/14612705/The+Academy+Is+tai08.jpg

Michael Guy Chislett, Adam “Sisky” Siska, William Beckett, Andy “The Butcher” Mrotek, and Mike Carden.

I always refer to them by their full names…except I always refer to Andy as “the Butcher” (side note: IĀ  loooove the Butcher).

You can skip this next paragraph as I reminisce about the first time I heard TAI:

It was a friend’s 17th birthday party and we were listening to a mixed CD. I only heard parts of songs, but for days I had the lyrics “Hollywood hills and suburban thrills” floating in my brain. I’m not sure why I didn’t just google it (unless I did and didn’t find any results?) and I could never remember to ask my friend what song it could be. And then another friend made me a mixed CD and I distinctly remember listening to it at work and freezing mid-slice (I was chopping fruits), because THAT SONG came on and I had to listen to it 7 times in a row (that could be an exaggeration, but I definitely listened to it on repeat for DAYS).

That song was “Slow Down”, which is still one of my favourite TAI songs:

THEY LOOK SO YOUNG IN THIS VIDEO!!!

After that, I was pretty much hooked on TAI. I ran around buying their albums (my favourite always has, and probably always will be, 2007’s Santi) and waited anxiously for them to tour, until I finally saw them live in November 2009. They were incredible. William Beckett has insane stage presence and I remember how everyone around me lost it when he leaned into the crowd. I was so close and yet so far (though now I can proudly say I’ve met him TWICE and my inner 17-year old cried after the first time).

That was the only time I saw TAI live, because, two years later, they broke up (I don’t like talking about that…). I’m pretty sure I just listened to this for about a week after I found out:

Take the pain out of love and then love won’t exist.

It’s one of my most favourite videos ever. I always thought it was beautifully done, with everything moving backwards (you know what else is beautiful? Santi-era William Beckett in a leather jacket. YOU WERE THINKING IT TOO, DON’T DENY IT).

But now TAI are no more. I’m not sure what the two Michaels are doing, but Sisky was the bassist for Say Anything at one point (he might just be a touring member). The Butcher has been making music (he may be in a new band!) and William Beckett is now a solo artist (I’ll talk about his new music on a different Monday).

And TAI fans are just left watching the “About A Girl” video and thinking, “yeah, that’s pretty much how I feel right now”:

.

I’M NOT IN LOOOOVE, THIS IS NOT MYYYY HEART

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

