Christmas time is here…

On today, the eve of Christmas Eve, I want to talk about CHRISTMAS MUSIC. Because I LOVE Christmas music!

I decided to pick 5 of my favourite Christmas songs (I didn’t repeat any artists, because if I allowed myself to repeat artists, I’d end up writing a post that says: “LISTEN TO FAMILY FORCE 5’S CHRISTMAS PAGEANT IN ITS ENTIRETY. YOU’RE WELCOME.”).

So here it is (this was so difficult to choose just 5!)

“Fool’s Holiday” – All Time Low

The first time I heard it, my heart grew 3 times its normal size. It’s incredible. Every time I hear it, I have to stop what I’m doing and sing along at the top of my voice, play air guitar, and whip my hair back and forth. If you like this, check out ATL’s other holiday song (from 2011), “Merry Christmas, Kiss My Ass“.

“Ho Ho Hopefully” – The Maine

 IT’S PERFECTION. JOHN O’CALLAGHAN LOOKS SO YOUNG BUT HE’S STILL SO CUTE. Their entire Christmas EP is adorable, but this song is my favourite!

“Carol of the Bells” – Family Force 5

Impossible to pick a favourite off of FF5’s Christmas Pageant album. It was a battle between this, “Angels We Have Heard On High” and “Twas the Night Before Christmas” (for which Ro and I have an epic interpretive dance that may or may not involve sliding across the living room floor and a lot of jazz hands).

“Santa Baby” – Madonna

One of my all time favourite Christmas songs. It never gets old. The Michael Buble version is pretty spectacular too.

“Mile High Christmas” – Breathe Carolina

Because who doesn’t want to make like Kyle and scream “PRESENTS! LET’S OPEN THIS SHIT UP” on Christmas morning?

BONUS: “Winter Passing” – The Academy Is…

It’s not specifically a “Christmas” song, but it’s wintery and he mentions the holidays and it’s just one of those songs that make you want to curl up under a blanket with a mug of tea and a single tear running down your face. For me, anyway.

For (pop)punk fans, make sure you look up the two holiday albums from Fearless Records: 2011’s (digital-only) ‘Tis the Season to be Fearless and 2013’s Punk Goes Christmas.  There’s also the aforementioned Christmas Pageant (2009) by Family Force 5 and the …And a Happy New Year EP (2008) from The Maine, plus the somewhat heart-wrenching-because-it-was-one-of-the-first-songs-he-wrote/recorded-after-his-cancer-treatment song, “The Lights and Buzz” from Andrew McMahon (released as a Jack’s Mannequin song) (I’m tearing up just thinking about the “it’s good to be alive” lyric).

There are so many songs and so many versions, I couldn’t list all of the ones I love without this post going on for days! But it’s almost Christmas, and I have work to do and cookies to eat, so…

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL AND TO ALL A GOOD NIGHT (or day, whatever).

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

