I’ve got nothing to lose…(except these writing contests)

It took me a long time to come up with a witty title for this post (I’m not even sure if it’s witty) but I’ve been saving all my good words for a short story contest, so I’m sorry.

I’m currently working on a submission for the Writer’s Digest Annual Short Story competition. Short stories are not my forte – I find it hard to limit myself to a word count (in this case, 2,000 to 4,000). But I’m really excited about my ideas for this story and I really need to start submitting my writing (in any form) for experience and whatnot.

The link:

http://www.writersdigest.com/competitions/writers-digest-annual-competition

Meanwhile, I’m also trying to psyche myself out to enter ANOTHER contest (this time, it’s FREE!)

The “Dear Lucky Agent” contest where you submit the first 150-200 words of your (unpublished) novel, to be judged by an actual, real-life literary agent! This time around, they’re focusing on Young Adult…which is conveniently the category I write for.

More details here:

http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/guide-to-literary-agents/15th-free-dear-lucky-agent-contest-young-adult-fiction

I strongly encourage other writers to enter one – or both – of these contests! What have you got to lose?

P.S. This post’s title comes from Forever the Sickest Kids:

I should be brave, with nothing to lose…

 

 

One thought on “I’ve got nothing to lose…(except these writing contests)

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

