It’s all about party, fun, love, and radio

In my publishing class, we had to do a non-fiction book proposal: I decided to do an autobiography by Charles Trippy. Who is Charles Trippy, you might ask? Well, most people know him as a YouTuber (his biggest channel, CTFxC has over one million subscribers, and he holds the Guinness World Record for most consecutive vlogs, an honour well-deserved since he’s posted one new vlog every day since May 2009). But I was first made aware of Charles Trippy when I saw We the Kings at Warped ’12 (shout out to Anna for one of the most memorable moments of the day i.e. when she shouted “CHAAARLES” and ran to him while we stood around with bemused expressions).

Hunter, Coley, Travis, Danny, and Charles.

I started listening to We the King in high school. I remember hearing “Check Yes Juliet” and being all “THIS SONG IS MY JAM”. I still get excited whenever I hear it.

Run baby run, don’t ever look back.

I always forget they are rather popular: while most people don’t understand what I’m talking about when I talk about bands, a lot of them nod and exclaim “Oh, I’ve heard of them!” when I mention We the Kings. They launched an Indiegogo campaign last September for fans to get involved with their fourth album, and, after destroying their goal of $35,000 (they raised almost $150,000!), Somewhere Somehow was released in December. I haven’t listened to it yet (it’s only available as a digital download, which hurts my physical-CD-loving heart), but “Just Keep Breathing”, the first new song they released in mid-2013, was excellent.

Remember that you’re not alone.

They are very much a summer-band (in my opinion): full of catchy, poppy goodness with a splash of rock. It’s not at all surprising to find out they’re from Florida – sunshine oozes out of their songs. It can be hard to listen to too much WTK in one shot because their four albums tend to blend together, but a random WTK song (or two) in a playlist is a delightful surprise.

Having said that, they’re actually REALLY good live. Up until Warped ’12, I kept missing WTK whenever they played in Toronto (I will still never get over the fact that they opened Warped ’10, and I missed them because I was standing in line to get in…wearing a WTK shirt, no less), so when I finally got a chance, I was blown away by how energetic and fun they were. I saw them on their headlining tour last summer, and I’m looking forward to seeing them again at this year’s Warped. If you’re going, I highly recommend checking them out.

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

