I Can Make A Mess Like Nobody’s Business

I meant to write/post this a couple of days ago, but it seemed like a good idea to keep it for Music Monday.

Last Tuesday, we saw The Early November who played songs from both their catalogue (they’ve been a band for over a decade), as well as songs from frontman Ace Enders’ solo project, I Can Make A Mess Like Nobody’s Business.

Ace Enders is the dude in the middle.

We haven’t listened to TEN extensively…by which I mean, Ro’s listened to their most recent album (2012’s In Currents), and we saw them at Warped ’13, but that’s pretty much it. Nevertheless, when they announced an acoustic show, we decided to go.

It was at the Hard Luck Bar which is one of the sketchiest venues in the city (but is perfect for acoustic shows). The first opener was some guy from some band but I honestly don’t remember who he was. He wasn’t anything to write home about, but I guess was a decent enough opener.

The next band was Empire! Empire! (I Was A Lonely Estate) who a) mumbled so much I couldn’t actually understand them and only found out their name after Googling them and b) did nothing to win my affection. Sorry, guys. I was kinda bored during their set. I try to stay as interested as I can in opening bands because you never know if you just might end up liking them, but these guys were…mediocre at best (abysmal at worst).

Then TEN came on – there were only three of them (Ace, the guy with the glasses, and another guy, but I can’t tell you which one he was). Like I said, we haven’t listened to them very much, so I didn’t know what to expect.

They were entertaining though! In multiple ways: not only do they make good music, but they were also quite amusing. I can’t remember what they said, but we definitely giggled a couple of times.

The one song I recognized (and which is relatively old) was “Decoration”:

They had a “set list” in theory, but they occasionally asked the audience to pick between songs. They also played “Pretty Pretty” (at the request of one particularly boisterous drunk girl) which is apparently a really rare song that never quite made it to an official recording, so that was cool.

They definitely made me want to listen to them again!

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

