Welcome to the black parade

One of my biggest music-related regrets is the fact that I only started listening to My Chemical Romance after they broke up.

Frank, Gerard, Mikey, and Ray. 

I don’t know why I didn’t listen to them before. I listened to – and continue to listen to – most of their “contemporaries”: mainly Panic! at the Disco and Fall Out Boy. So why not MCR?

It could be many reasons. Perhaps their “Black Parade”-era make-up scared me (similar to the way I avoid looking at pictures of Black Veil Brides). Maybe I thought they were screamy (sure, now I have a higher tolerance for screaming/metal in general, but high school me? Not so much). Or maybe – and this is most likely – because there was a girl at school who I didn’t like (and who didn’t like me) who was obsessed with them. An “I don’t want to be associated with her in any way” type of thing? Sounds like something I’d do.

Then, late last year/early this year, I finally decided to listen to MCR. And of course loved them. And then felt sad for a while because I realized that I will never get to see them live because they broke up in March 2013 and, since they all seem to be content with doing solo stuff, there seems to be a very small chance of a reunion tour.

Their last song as a band, released on their “Greatest Hits” album.

Of course, it’s not as bad as if I had been a fan for years and found out they broke up. I’ve been there a couple of times (*coughTHEACADEMYIScough*), and it sucks, so I oddly feel sad for the people who had been hardcore MCR fans and never saw them live. I’m sure they put on fantastic shows.

Fun fact: Colleen Atwood designed the costumes in this video. Colleen Atwood frequently works with Tim Burton. I love Tim Burton and all things related to him. I’m kicking my past-self for dropping the ball on being part of the MCR family when they were still a band.

Despite being compared to early-P!ATD or FOB, MCR is unique in their ability to combine several different genres and styles in a way that both makes sense and is genuinely pleasing.

I can’t say that I’ve become a “hardcore” MCR fan. I don’t plaster my walls with their faces or listen to them every day (I’ve only listened to their first album, 2002’s I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love, once or twice; I must admit that I prefer 2006’s The Black Parade), but they are a solid band and I wish I had given them a chance a few years ago instead of writing them off because they were a little more macabre than what I was used to.

4 thoughts on “Welcome to the black parade

  1. disregardeddreams says:

    I hate that feeling of listening to a band, liking their stuff and then finding out there won’t be any more! It’s a killer! I’ve been a fan of MCR for years, and I still remember the shock of sitting there with my cousin when they broke up! Took a bit longer for me to accept than when I found out Busted broke up, but I hate that I’ve liked them for so long and never got to see them live. That’s the worst thing about being a music fan, never knowing if you’ll get the chance to see the people you admire do their thing in person!

    • It’s the worst! I try to go to every concert I can because I live in fear that it will be the last time I see that particular band. I’m sorry you never got to see them live after being a fan for so long, but fingers crossed they do a reunion of some sort (maybe pull a “Fall Out Boy” and get back together in 3-4 years? We can only hope)!
      On a different note, I saw that you’re also a Paradise Fears fan :) Have you had a chance to see them in concert yet?

      • disregardeddreams says:

        Yeah, I keep hoping that they’ll be like, Hey, let’s do it again!
        Oh my God! Paradise Fears! I wish I could say I’ve seen them live, but I haven’t! That’s the worst part about living in Ireland, people tend to forget to come over here, which sucks! But according to Sam, he’s waiting until he has the accent down! Part of me is terrified of meeting them though because there is a high chance I’ll cry, if not when I’m talking to them, but when they’re playing definitely. They’re like my little support system! Which sounds weird, and people never really understand, but they’ve helped me so much!

        • Oh, I completely understand! There’s something about Paradise Fears that just makes life easier to handle, you know? They seem to have a song for every moment in your life. And I love talking about them – I try to share them with everyone I know.
          I really hope they visit Ireland one day and you absolutely have to meet them – or just Sam, at the very least, because he gives amazing bear hugs! I think they’ve accepted that they strike an emotional chord with a lot of people; they’re all incredibly sweet and caring, even if someone does start crying in front of them (which seems to happen quite a bit – I’ve definitely teared up during “Sanctuary”).
          Just curious: how did you first hear about them?

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

