The devil’s been stuck in my brain, and he’s been living there seventeen days

Happy (Canadian) Thanksgiving!

I’ve decided that this week will be (unofficial) British music week. I have three concerts in the next four days and, interestingly, they’re all British bands. So I’ll be posting reviews for them, plus a random song on Wednesday to make a full week of British music! Yay!

Today, I’d like to talk about Mallory Knox. I’m surprised I haven’t mentioned them earlier. They’re GREAT.

They’re another “Ro-band” – I believe she first heard them on BBC Radio 1, and then played “Hello” for me, and I was all “MORE LIKE HELLO-WHO-ARE-THESE-GUYS, AM I RIGHT?” because it’s a really good song.

Like Don Broco, I think one of the reasons Mallory Knox stands out from the crowd is because of their singer’s very distinctive voice. Their singer, Mikey (the Bill Weasley-esque ginger in the photo) (I say “Bill Weasley” as a compliment, by the way), has a deeper-than-expected voice and can carry the songs, infusing them with emotions, whether he’s simply singing or faux-screaming.

Their latest single, “Shout at the Moon”.

The only downside to listening to British bands as a Canadian is the fact that they so rarely come to our fair country. So far, MK hasn’t made it over here, but we live in hope. Based on every review I’ve read of them, they seem to put on a phenomenal live show, plus it’s on my bucket list to stand in a crowd of fans screaming the “Lighthouse” lyrics.

Find us all, Wish you could, Touch your soul, l light it up, See the path, It’s time to go…

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

