Lights out, words gone

For British Music Week’s final post, here are my brief impressions of last night’s Bombay Bicycle Club show:

First of all, they didn’t go on until 9:45pm and because I’m secretly an old lady, I was distraught over being out so late.

We missed most of Luxley, the opening band, because we were eating/drinking at the delightful Boots & Bourbon restaurant (we recommend it), just down the street from the Opera House. The next band, Milo Greene, was decent. I don’t really have much to say about them: they sounded like every other opening band that comes on before a band I actually want to see…if that makes sense.

After we almost fell asleep on the somewhat uncomfortable couches (I really do love sitting on the balcony at the Opera House, but it’s not ideal if you want to dance really hard), Bombay Bicycle Club finally came out.

They have a very Two Door Cinema Club-like vibe, which is definitely a compliment. Despite listening to their most recent album, this year’s So Long, See You Tomorrow, I don’t really know any BBC songs, so this concert basically served as an introduction to the band. I’ll have to give them another listen – preferably when I’m not falling asleep in a dark room full of strangers.

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

