Paper faces on parade

The other day, my mom and I were watching part of The Phantom of the Opera on TV. It’s easily my most favourite show of all time – I’ve seen it live four times, plus my first viewing was the movie (sidenote: having seen it live, I’d have to say Gerard Butler (in the movie) is my least favourite Phantom. He has a decent voice, but it’s not as powerful as most of the live performances) (sidenote 2: I almost referred to him as “Gerard Way” by accident, then thought the former MCR-frontman would probably make a killer Phantom…I’ll wait here while you imagine it.)

Anyway, we stopped watching it after a few minutes, partially because my mom wanted to sleep, but also because by the time we turned it on, we had already missed my favourite scene: “Masquerade”.

This song is my (theatrical) jam. I love the set, the costumes, the entire process and production. And the words themselves are pretty evocative – even if you can’t physically see the whirls of colour, you can imagine them.

I get this song stuck in my head all the time (basically any time someone mentions The Phantom of the Opera); it is, in my opinion, one of the best scenes in musical theatre.

 

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

