I’m a cliche in a song, and everybody’s singing along

Two weeks ago, All Time Low released the first single from their upcoming album, Future Hearts. It’s called “Something’s Gotta Give” and the video is fantastic.

It’s a bit gory, but they did a great job with it.

I loved this song the second I heard it. To be fair, in my mind, All Time Low can do no wrong, but this seemed like an excellent way for them to “come back” (they haven’t released new music since the bonus tracks on their 2013 re-release Don’t Panic: It’s Longer Now).

Then I was perplexed because there were so many comments floating around saying ATL had changed their sound and it wasn’t the same and what happened to them and I was like

I don’t understand how this song is so different from their usual stuff when it seems like a natural progression for them. If anything, it almost seems like they’re bringing back their old sound.

After my initial “ALISDHFL ASDOUHGF ASD I LOVE THEM” reaction, I listened to it again and thought that it had a “Me Without You (All I Ever Wanted)” sound. Which, in turn, has always reminded me of something off of 2007’s So Wrong, It’s Right (maybe “Shameless“? Or even the fan-favourite (but not actually my favourite) “Dear Maria, Count Me In“?).

So I’m not sure why people are freaking out because ATL has “changed”. I, for one, really like “Something’s Gotta Give” and I can’t wait until Future Hearts drops (I may or may not have pre-ordered it as a birthday gift to myself…April can’t get here fast enough!).

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

