I’m a nightmare dressed like a daydream

A couple of weeks ago, I considered handing in my “pop punk 4 life” card. Why? Because I listened to a Taylor Swift song – and I liked it.

I often say that I don’t like Taylor Swift. But, while I’ve never been her biggest fan, I haven’t always disliked her.

I actually didn’t mind “Love Story” or even “You Belong to Me” when they first came out. Catchy and cute, even if the lyrics didn’t have a lot of substance. But then I worked at a bookstore where we listened to Taylor Swift ALL DAY, EVERY DAY, and after that, I screamed whenever I heard one of her songs. Me + country = not the perfect combination (I must confess to having a soft spot for Carrie Underwood though).

That being said, it still hurts my heart a little that I like one of her songs. It’s hella catchy, though, and there are some good lines (i.e. the title of this post is one of the best lyrics I’ve heard in a straight-up pop song in a long time).

Luckily, the post-hardcore band Our Last Night released a cover a couple of days after I first listened to “Blank Space”.

So I’ll probably just listen to this version all the time and pretend like I didn’t download 1989 and I certainly haven’t spent the last two weeks sporadically listening to the original…

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

