ARC Review: Sing For Me – Gracie Madison

Sing For Me – Gracie Madison

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00007]Madeline Noel fled war-torn Heaven to hide within the mortal world, but the blessing that could protect her from evil is the holy realm’s forbidden power.

As a talented soprano for the Eden Theatre Company, Madeline hides among prima donnas and tone-deaf flutists. Her perfect voice may entertain audiences, but a careless laugh may shatter glass, and her greatest scream can kill. To control her unrestrained voice, the angels forbid Madeline from embracing the emotions that strengthen her song. Anger. Fear.

Love.

The demon-hunter Damascus vows to defend Madeline from Hell’s relentless evil, but he cannot protect her from her own feelings. Though they deny their dangerous attraction, her guardian becomes her greatest temptation.

Surrendering to desire may awaken the gift suppressed within Madeline’s soul, and neither Heaven nor Hell will allow such absolute power to exist.

Release Date: January 21st, 2015

Thank you to NetGalley for providing a free copy in exchange for an honest review!

This is one of the first NA (new adult) books I’ve read and, frankly, my thoughts on “NA” as a category could take up an entire post (hey, that’s a good idea…), but I wasn’t sure what to expect going in.

I have complicated feelings about this book. It wasn’t bad per se, I just didn’t really enjoy it. I read the whole thing, though admittedly I started skimming at about 30%. I considered abandoning it, but sheer stubbornness compelled me to read to the very end.

What I liked:

-the cover!! And the title!! It made me think of The Phantom of the Opera (which I love), and I kept singing “Think of Me” every time Madeline was on stage, so that was nice.

-the premise. A powerful voice that could literally destroy things/people? She’s like Operetta from Monster High (yeah, I know that’s a really odd reference, but Operetta is the best)!

-of all the characters, I liked Shiloh the most, but since his every other sentence was winked or smirked at someone, he started to grate on my nerves as the book went on.

-I loved that the angels were named after cities (or rather, the cities were named after the angels): Damascus, Shiloh, Tyre, Philippi, Corinth – that’s pretty cool.

What I didn’t like:

-I can’t pinpoint exactly what I didn’t like. I was just bored. I couldn’t connect to any of the characters so I didn’t really care whether they lived or died (I kinda wanted someone to die so that the story would devolve into chaos).

-it was somewhat predictable i.e. I totally saw the thing with Natalie coming (and Madeline being “named” – I mean, it was pretty obvious).

-Danielle was beyond annoying and I couldn’t even feel sorry for her poor relationship.

-that strange “even though I love her, I’m gonna say it was rape so they don’t kill her” plot point. I feel that’s problematic but I don’t have the words to explain why.

-I was very confused with the Veil. Maybe I skipped the part where it explained exactly what the Veil was, but first I thought it was her mortal shell (but then was Damascus attracted to her mortal appearance but not her real Choir appearance??), then I thought it was like an invisible protective shield (to hide her, I guess, from Corinth), and now I’m at a complete loss.

Overall, it felt a lot longer than it was. The writing was great and there were some really lyrical sentences (although it was the type of book where everything “damned” everything else ex. his love damned them all, her voice damned the world, etc). I just could not get into it though I’m positive there’s an audience out there who will love this book. Unfortunately, that audience doesn’t include me.

Rating:

2 interrobangs

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

