[I]f you want a hit you better call up Nate from fun.

Tonight, I’m going to see Nate Ruess, so I figured I’d talk about him a bit today in preparation.

nate ruess

I’ve been listening to Nate Ruess in some form or another for the past seven years or so. At first, in high school, my friend introduced me to The Format via their adorable song “Snails”.

Shortly thereafter, Nate left to form fun., and I sort of forgot about him until I saw fun. open for Panic! at the Disco on the Vices & Virtues tour in 2011.

Since then, I’ve seen fun. two other times – headlining shows in 2012 and 2013, plus last year I saw Bleachers, which is the side project belonging to fun.’s guitarist, Jack Antonoff (formerly of Steel Train, who I just started listening to).

And now, we’re in 2015 and Nate has released his first solo album, Grand Romantic!

Like Andrew McMahon, who is only recently getting the attention he deserves, I’m honestly surprised it’s taken so long for people to realize what an amazing musician Nate Ruess is – so few people have heard of The Format, but if you mention fun.’s major single, “We Are Young”, everyone’s heard it at least once. Nate Ruess has such an impressive voice – at times, he almost seems to channel Freddie Mercury, and I would pay a lot of money to hear him sing a Queen song. I’m looking forward to seeing him tonight – watch out for my review tomorrow!

Side note: the title of this post comes from a Paradise Fears cover (with an original rap verse) and it seemed fitting.

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

