Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s prompt is Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read. This is somewhat similar to the other topic from a few months ago, Top Ten Books I Will Never Read (or at least, that’s how it ended up for me).

1) 50 Shades of Grey – E.L. James
I imagine this is one several lists today

2) Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins
I know this is like sacrilege since I’m a YA fan, but dystopia really isn’t my thing.

3) Insurgent/Allegiant – Veronica Roth
I read Divergent shortly after meeting Veronica Roth (at work), but I haven’t gotten around to reading the rest of the trilogy, and I’m not in a rush (I already guessed how it ends).

4) Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
Meh.

5) The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins
Also meh.

6) The Fault in Our Stars – John Green
Again, sacrilege, but I haven’t gotten around to reading any of John Green’s books, and again, I’m not in a rush.

7) The Goldfinch – Donna Tartt
I’m not even sure what this one is about, but it was all over the place last year.

8) The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky
I’ll get to this one eventually, but honestly, I have a very long TBR list, so this one isn’t really a priority.

9) The Queen of the Tearling – Erika Johansen
I’ve heard mixed reviews about this one, but I’ll probably read it before it becomes a movie.

10) The Life of Pi – Yann Martel
I almost want to read it because of this piece of fanart, but I’m not actually interested in it.

life of pi

What’s on your list?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. You really aren’t missing much by not reading Fifty Shades! You are, however, missing out on Hunger Games and Insurgent/Allegiant in my opinion- they are all very good books! Gone Girl is on my list, but I will be reading it within the next few weeks! The Fault In Our Stars is amazing and quite addictive, so it would be quite a quick read :) I haven’t read The Perks of Being a Wallflower yet, but I have it sitting on my bookshelf to be read very soon! Great list :)

    • Thanks for commenting! I appreciate when people like books enough to try to convince me to give them a shot :) I’ve heard they (Hunger Games/Insurgent/Allegiant/FIOS) are supposed to be great reads (and I haven’t watched any of the movies, so I haven’t “ruined” the experience for myself!), so I’ll probably pick them up eventually…I just have to make a dent in my TBR pile first!

  2. Someone else who didn’t read Hunger Games and has no plans to! Yes! Wallflower made my list too – that is one I want to read but haven’t yet. TFIOS – I read it but I had to be in the right frame of mind. It was really good.

    • I do think you have to be in a certain mood to read “sad” books like TFIOS. Someone told me she thought I’d prefer Looking for Alaska, so that might be my first John Green novel (eventually!). And my friend loved the Perks movie, but she’s not really a YA fan, so I don’t know if I can completely trust her judgement :P

  3. Now I wanna read Life of Pi because of the fan art! :P Actually, I watched the movie and I think that’s as far as I will go.

    I should have added Goldfinch to my list this week. So many people have read and loved it, but I’m must not interested at all.

    • I looooove that fanart, it makes my Calvin and Hobbes-fangirl heart flutter! My dad tried reading it a while back and gave up because he just wasn’t interested (and he reads books that I sometimes think of as “boring”, so I’m scared of any book he considers dull!)!

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

