Let Your Body Move to the Music: Top Four Madonna Songs [re-direct to Mind the Gap]

I’m going to see Madonna for the fourth time tonight. I realize she doesn’t really fall into my usual genre of music, but I grew up listening to her, so I’m pretty excited. I’ll update this post with a brief recap of the show tomorrow, but in the meantime, take a look at my top four favourite Madonna songs here!

madonna album

Update:
The only downside to seeing Madonna is that she likes to go on stage late (9:45pm, but come on!) which means I didn’t get home until after 1am. Yay for waking up at 6am to go to work!

The stage design was really cool with the heart/cross catwalk and all the traps door (particularly the one that opened when she pushed a dancer off a set of stairs)(it was choreographed, she didn’t just lose her temper!). Speaking of, the dancers were phenomenal. And Madge herself is ridiculously fit for someone in her late 50’s (she is far more toned/agile than I will ever be) with a ton of energy. She seemed happy, chatting with the audience which was fun but would have been more fun if it wasn’t so late (I’m secretly 85 years old).

Setlist was interesting – a lot of stuff from her new album, of course, but some old songs thrown in. I was disappointed at the lack of “Like a Prayer”, but an acoustic rendition of “True Blue” pretty much made up for it. Excellent renditions of “Material Girl”, “Holiday” (which closed the show), and “Like a Virgin”, but I could have used a full version of “Vogue” instead of a medley. And it was cute that she played a cover (“La Vie en Rose”), which was surprising since she has about three decades worth of original material to choose from.

Overall, it was a good show, but probably not my favourite Madonna experience.

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

