We’re the voice of the new generation

Two weeks ago (or maybe three, I don’t know what day it is), 5 Seconds of Summer released their second album, Sounds Good, Feels Good.

5s0s

5SOS are coming from a unique place though. No, I don’t just mean Australia, though I guess that in itself is unique. They’re coming from a mostly pop beginnings and, rather than producing an album that sounds identical to their 2014 eponymous debut, they seem to have branched out a little, drawing on more of their pop-punk influences. That’s why I don’t understand the amount of hate they get from the “scene” – I listen to this album, and I can hear All Time Low (one of my very favourite bands), Green Day, Good Charlotte, etc. They might not be doing anything “different” or ground-breaking, but they’re making the music that they would want to listen to, and that’s something to be admired.

I was going to do a track-by-track but Aleshia (Insanity Talks) already put together a really in-depth look at the album and has probably been a fan longer than me, so you should read her post here!

For now, I’ll leave you with the three songs I can’t get out of my head. I have to admit, I’m pretty excited to see these guys next July!

(I could only find an acoustic version, but it’s quite good).

One thought on “We’re the voice of the new generation

  1. starlightdaydreamer says:

    I absolutely adore 5 Seconds of Summer, and I love the growth that you can hear between their first album and this one! It’s obvious how much this album means to them.

There is only one thing in life worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about:

